teamgonzo.net Forum Index
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
Freeze
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Reply to topic    teamgonzo.net Forum Index » Help & Support View previous topic
View next topic
Freeze
Author Message
TriffiD
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 1933
Location: Lüneburg, Germany

Post Freeze Reply with quote
Ummm. Strange problem. All out of a sudden I have strange, short freezes ingame. About every two seconds the display freezes for about half a second. It gets a little better after a while, but next round it starts all over.
I first encountered this a few weeks ago on ET, but I just found out it is qite the same with TCE.
I updated Punkbuster manually -> didn't help
I reinstalled graphics driver -> all the same
Does that sound familiar to anyone?

_________________

Finally online: TriffiD's Astronomy Page
Wed Jul 22, 2009 9:44 am View user's profile Send private message
muetze



Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 116
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Post Re: Freeze Reply with quote
TriffiD wrote:
Ummm. Strange problem. All out of a sudden I have strange, short freezes ingame. About every two seconds the display freezes for about half a second. It gets a little better after a while, but next round it starts all over.
I first encountered this a few weeks ago on ET, but I just found out it is qite the same with TCE.
I updated Punkbuster manually -> didn't help
I reinstalled graphics driver -> all the same
Does that sound familiar to anyone?


sometimes, after i \quit and reconnect a few hours later, that problem occurs.
solution: reboot

enable your fps. they should drop significantly.
Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:00 am View user's profile Send private message
TriffiD
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 1933
Location: Lüneburg, Germany

Post Re: Freeze Reply with quote
muetze wrote:
TriffiD wrote:
Ummm. Strange problem. All out of a sudden I have strange, short freezes ingame. About every two seconds the display freezes for about half a second. It gets a little better after a while, but next round it starts all over.
I first encountered this a few weeks ago on ET, but I just found out it is qite the same with TCE.
I updated Punkbuster manually -> didn't help
I reinstalled graphics driver -> all the same
Does that sound familiar to anyone?


sometimes, after i \quit and reconnect a few hours later, that problem occurs.
solution: reboot

enable your fps. they should drop significantly.

Nope - fps is more or less constant at 90. But the lag-o-meter shows spikes in the downspeed-graph. Didn't see that b4. I will check my conection.
Thanks so far anyways.

_________________

Finally online: TriffiD's Astronomy Page
Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:34 am View user's profile Send private message
OKlop



Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 398
Location: Croatia

Post Reply with quote
and about your connection, how do u connect? wireless maybe?
if it is disable windows zero configuration thingy in services and use the software u got with your modem/router...

_________________


Last edited by OKlop on Wed Jul 22, 2009 11:08 am; edited 1 time in total
Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:50 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TriffiD
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 1933
Location: Lüneburg, Germany

Post Reply with quote
OKlop wrote:
and about your connection, how do u connect? wireless maybe?

No, then it would be pretty simple to explain.
My connection is quite complicated. I have two routers. One is quite old, has an alternative Firmware, runs a small linux and boots a secondary PC via cronjob to record radio ad tv. Right now everything runs over a switch. I will try to connect the main-pc directly to the router that connects to the internet. Iptv might play a role also. But I had that long before the problem occured.
I'll fiddle around with all that and tell you then if it works.

_________________

Finally online: TriffiD's Astronomy Page
Wed Jul 22, 2009 11:04 am View user's profile Send private message
Bionic Commando



Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 5409
Location: Under the hood.

Post Reply with quote
I have had those spikes for few weeks now, first I thought it was my comp overheating.
Sad

_________________

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:59 pm View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Majesty



Joined: 03 Mar 2009
Posts: 75

Post Reply with quote
i have these spikes too. It cant be my connection thats for sure. FPS is running kinda steady at 80-90
Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:15 pm View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
TriffiD
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 1933
Location: Lüneburg, Germany

Post Reply with quote
Well, I tried pretty much everyting now. No changes. If you guys experience the same it might be Punkbuster. Problems stated a few weeks ago, after I was kicked by PB due to not initialized Punkbstrb.exe or something like that.
I heard that PB can cause this behaviour, but since nobody complained where I looked for help, I thought it must be my fault. I alrady updatet PB manually, but as I said: It did not change anything. Evil or Very Mad

_________________

Finally online: TriffiD's Astronomy Page
Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:49 pm View user's profile Send private message
OKlop



Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 398
Location: Croatia

Post Reply with quote
before i start searching force forums tell me if u have a fresh install or not? i remember having some weird problems at their server because of some pk3 files...


edit:

just had a look on force forums, but i had a problem with fps drops...

http://www.tce-force.com/index.php?option=com_fireboard&Itemid=2&func=view&id=1746&catid=19&limit=6&limitstart=0

got rid of it by deleting some pk3 files..

_________________
Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:23 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bionic Commando



Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 5409
Location: Under the hood.

Post Reply with quote
fresh install?
hahahahaaa!
NEVER!
I still got mu original install, and I will never delete it.

_________________

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:30 pm View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TriffiD
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 1933
Location: Lüneburg, Germany

Post Reply with quote
OKlop wrote:
before i start searching force forums tell me if u have a fresh install or not? i remember having some weird problems at their server because of some pk3 files...


edit:

just had a look on force forums, but i had a problem with fps drops...

http://www.tce-force.com/index.php?option=com_fireboard&Itemid=2&func=view&id=1746&catid=19&limit=6&limitstart=0

got rid of it by deleting some pk3 files..

No, I did not reinstall (for the obvious reason Rolling Eyes ) but I use two installations of enemy territory. One for ET and one for TCE and both show this behaviour.
I also deleted all of the custom pk3s from my ET-installation. Did not change anything. Crying or Very sad

_________________

Finally online: TriffiD's Astronomy Page
Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:39 pm View user's profile Send private message
TriffiD
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 1933
Location: Lüneburg, Germany

Post Reply with quote
I just reinstalled the whole thing (thanks Bull - you are the best!). The problem stays the same: A spike and freeze every two seconds.
But it was not completely useless to reinstall, cause I conncted to a server before updating PB. And guess what... All nice and fluent until PB kicked me after a minute. After I updated PB: Welcome to the land of spikes and tears.
Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad

_________________

Finally online: TriffiD's Astronomy Page
Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:51 pm View user's profile Send private message
Bionic Commando



Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 5409
Location: Under the hood.

Post Reply with quote
there are 4 spikes in know:
ak47|spike
]FORCE[SpikeSpiegel
]FORCE[Spik3
and
spik

Cool

_________________

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:56 pm View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TriffiD
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 1933
Location: Lüneburg, Germany

Post Reply with quote
Bionic Commando wrote:
there are 4 spikes in know:
ak47|spike
]FORCE[SpikeSpiegel
]FORCE[Spik3
and
spik

Cool
Then there are actually 5 Spikes. SpikeSpiegel should be counted as two. One real and one reflected, for "Spiegel" is the German word for "mirror".
How many tears are in TCE?

_________________

Finally online: TriffiD's Astronomy Page
Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:18 pm View user's profile Send private message
Bionic Commando



Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 5409
Location: Under the hood.

Post Reply with quote
Idea Question Idea Question Idea Question

_________________

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:23 pm View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    teamgonzo.net Forum Index » Help & Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.